How Solitary Confinement Works


Lots More Information

Author's Note: How Solitary Confinement Works

Solitary confinement sounds tortuous to me. And I cannot fathom having to endure it for weeks, let alone years. Although I consider myself someone who is pretty strong mentally, I don't think I would make it. Plenty of research shows the practice is extremely harmful to inmates, plus costly to taxpayers, so it seems a no-brainer to severely restrict its use. Of course, that's just my opinion. And as we know from our country's recent presidential election, the country is full of people with very divergent views.

Related Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • Beck, Molly. "Wisconsin is one of few states to allow solitary stays for youths of more than 10 days." Wisconsin State Journal. Jan. 25, 2017. (Jan. 25, 2017) http://host.madison.com/wsj/news/local/govt-and-politics/wisconsin-one-of-few-states-to-allow-solitary-stays-for/article_6ecbb323-5a24-541b-87a5-843766a14a6b.html
  • Breslow, Jason. "What Does Solitary Confinement Do To Your Mind?" PBS. April 22, 2014. (Jan. 14, 2017) http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/frontline/article/what-does-solitary-confinement-do-to-your-mind/
  • Cole, David. "Albert Woodfox And The Case Against Solitary Confinement." The New Yorker. Feb. 23, 2016. (Jan. 14, 2017) http://www.newyorker.com/news/news-desk/albert-woodfox-and-the-case-against-solitary-confinement
  • Connect Us. "13 Most Valid Pros and Cons of Solitary Confinement." (Jan. 25, 2017) http://connectusfund.org/13-most-valid-pros-and-cons-of-solitary-confinement
  • Infographic World. "Solitary Confinement Facts and Statistics." (Jan. 16, 2017) http://infographicworld.com/blogs/solitary-confinement-facts/
  • Johnson, Carrie and Bill Chappell. "Solitary Confinement Costs $78K Per Inmate And Should Be Curbed, Critics Say." National Public Radio. Feb. 25, 2014. (Jan. 25, 2017) http://www.npr.org/sections/thetwo-way/2014/02/25/282672593/solitary-confinement-costs-78k-per-inmate-and-should-be-curbed-critics-say
  • Kaba, Fatos, et al. "Solitary Confinement and Risk of Self-Harm Among Jail Inmates." American Journal of Public Health. March 2014. (Jan. 25, 2017) http://ajph.aphapublications.org/doi/pdf/10.2105/AJPH.2013.301742
  • Manson, Joshua. "UN Report Compares Solitary Confinement Practices in the U.S. and Around the World." Solitary Watch. Oct. 28, 2016. (Jan. 16, 2017) http://solitarywatch.com/2016/10/28/un-report-compares-solitary-confinement-practices-around-the-world/
  • Moore, Rowan. "Albert Woodfox: 'I choose to use my anger as a means for changing things.'" The Guardian. Oct. 23, 2016. (Jan. 23, 2017) https://www.theguardian.com/news/2016/oct/23/albert-woodfox-interview-released-angola-three-louisiana-state-penitentiary
  • Ordway, Denise-Marie and John Wihbey. "Solitary confinement in prisons: Key data and research findings." Journalist's Resource. Jan. 26, 2016. (Jan. 14, 2017)
  • Penal Reform. "Solitary confinement." (Jan. 16, 2017) https://www.penalreform.org/priorities/prison-conditions/key-facts/solitary-confinement/
  • The Guardian. "What is solitary confinement?" April 27, 2016. (Jan. 14, 2017) https://www.theguardian.com/world/2016/apr/27/what-is-solitary-confinement
  • The White House. "FACT SHEET: Department of Justice Review of Solitary Confinement." Jan. 25, 2016. (Jan. 23, 2017) https://obamawhitehouse.archives.gov/the-press-office/2016/01/25/fact-sheet-department-justice-review-solitary-confinement

More to Explore