10 Weird Ingredients People Put in Thanksgiving Dressing


1
White Castle Sliders
Can fast food make the transition to the holiday table? © Najlah Feanny/Corbis

If you are of French descent, you may have memories of your mémère making a meat stuffing -- a French stuffing cooked with ground beef or pork (or a combination of the two), and, depending on the specifics of your family's recipe, possibly onion, maybe potato and perhaps a hint of nutmeg or poultry seasoning. Spread a version of it on bread and it's called creton; bake it in a pie and it's tourtière. And some families use it as stuffing for their Thanksgiving turkey. So the idea of adding burgers to your holiday stuffing may not seem so far-fetched; what is White Castle Turkey Stuffing if not a highly-Americanized and modernized version of a French Canadian cretons or tourtière? Right?

So here's what you do to make this version:

You're going to need one White Castle slider (hold the pickles -- you just want beef, bread, and onions) for every one pound of turkey. So for an easy example: to stuff a 10-pound (4.5 kilogram) turkey, you'll need 10 hamburgers. In a large mixing bowl, tear those 10 burgers into bite-sized pieces, add 1.5 cups diced celery, 1.25 teaspoons ground thyme, 1.25 teaspoons ground sage and 1.5 teaspoons coarse ground pepper (or to taste). Toss everything together, and add a quarter cup of chicken broth. Combine well. Your stuffing is now ready for the bird. Stuff just before roasting, and roast until the center of the stuffing reaches a minimum internal temperature of 165 degrees Fahrenheit (74 Celsius) [sources: White Castle, CDC].

Author's Note: 10 Weird Ingredients People Put in Thanksgiving Dressing

Growing up, we had a few types of stuffing at the Thanksgiving table -- a bread stuffing, or sometimes a chestnut stuffing, but it was my grandmother's French meat stuffing that made an appearance every Thanksgiving, both as a stuffing for our turkey as well as baked in a casserole dish (too much stuffing for the bird, I guess?). I was always a fan of the version baked in the casserole dish, which took on a nice golden crust.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Balsley, Betsy. "Fabulous Fillers: Skip the stuffing? Not on Thanksgiving!" Los Angeles Times. Nov. 17, 1988. (Nov. 3, 2013) http://articles.latimes.com/1988-11-17/food/fo-370_1_turkey-stuffing/3
  • Biography. "Myles Standish." (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.biography.com/people/myles-standish-9491929
  • Butler, Stephanie. "Stuffing, Dressing and Filling: Thanksgiving Across America." History. Nov. 16, 2012. (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.history.com/news/hungry-history/stuffing-dressing-and-filling-thanksgiving-across-america
  • Butterball. "Calculators & Conversion Table." (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.butterball.com/calculators-and-conversions
  • Chang, Joanne. "Sticky-Rice Dressing." Food and Wine. Nov. 10, 2010 (Nov. 3, 2013 ) http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/sticky-rice-dressing
  • Cooks.com. "French Canadian All Meat Stuffing." (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.cooks.com/recipe/lz6pa7kn/french-canadian-all-meat-stuffing.html
  • Country Living. "Sticky Rice Dressing with Chinese Sausage, Edamame, and Chestnuts." (nov. 3, 2013) http://www.countryliving.com/recipefinder/sticky-rice-dressing-sausage-edamame-recipe-clv1110
  • Currence, John. "Oyster-Cornbread Stuffing." Bon Appetit. 2011. (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/oyster-cornbread-stuffing
  • Food Network Magazine. "Tortilla Chips-Chorizo Stuffing." (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchens/tortilla-chip-chorizo-stuffing-recipe/index.html
  • Frito Lay. "Tostitos Artisan Recipes Tortilla Chips Stuffing." (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.fritolay.com/recipes/recipe/tostitos-artisan-recipes-stuffing
  • Fussell, Betty. "Wild Birds Tamed: Braised Turkey with Popcorn Stuffing," Sally's Place. (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.sallybernstein.com/food/columns/fussell/turkey.htm
  • Guangzhou Travel Guide. "Glutinous Rice Chicken (Lo mai gai)." May 19, 2011. (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.guangzhoutravelguide.com/guangzhou_food/glutinous-rice-chicken-lo-mai-gai.html
  • Guarnaschelli, Alex. "Recipe: Miles Standish Stuffing." James Beard Foundation. (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.jamesbeard.org/recipes/miles-standish-stuffing
  • Lopez-Alt, J. Kengi. "Taste Test: We Find the Best Bread for Stuffing." Serious Eats. Nov. 17, 2011. (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.seriouseats.com/2011/11/whats-the-best-bread-for-stuffing.html
  • Martha Stewart. "Fruit and Nut Stuffing." (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.marthastewart.com/346129/fruit-and-nut-stuffing
  • Moskin, Julia. "Pepperoni: On Top." The New York Times. Feb. 1, 2011. (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.nytimes.com/2011/02/02/dining/02pepperoni.html
  • National Turkey Federation. "Is it stuffing or is it dressing?" (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.eatturkey.com/consumer/cookinfo/dressing
  • National Turkey Federation. "Statistics." (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.eatturkey.com/why-turkey/stats
  • New England Recipes. "Oyster Stuffing." (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.newenglandrecipes.org/html/oyster-stuffing.html
  • Oyster Company of Virginia. "Chesapeake Bay Baked Oyster Dressing." (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.oysterva.com/oyster-dressing.html
  • Palermo Torres, Rochelle. "Winter Fruit and Nut Stuffing." Bon Appetit. (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/winter-fruit-and-nut-stuffing
  • Polis, Carey. "Turkey Stuffed With Twinkies Is, In Fact, An Actual Recipe From The 'Twinkies Cookbook.'" The Huffington Post. Nov. 7, 2011. (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/11/07/recipe-turkey-stuffed-twinkies_n_1080045.html
  • Saveur. "Oyster Stuffing." Oct. 10, 2008. (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.saveur.com/article/Recipes/Oyster-Stuffing-1000065850
  • Saveur. "Sofrito." Nov. 10, 2011. (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.saveur.com/article/Recipes/Puerto-Rican-Sofrito
  • Skirbunt, Pete. "The Pilgrims' Real First Thanksgiving." American Forces Press Service. Nov. 22, 1999. (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.defense.gov/News/NewsArticle.aspx?ID=43005
  • Smith, Taylor. "Thanksgiving recipes, traditional comforts can challenge gluten-free dinner guests." The Oregonian. Oct. 31, 2013. (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.oregonlive.com/hillsboro/index.ssf/2013/10/thanksgiving_recipes_tradition.html
  • Taste of Home Magazine. "Scarborough Fair Stuffing Recipe." Page 43. Oct/Nov. 2009. (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/scarborough-fair-stuffing
  • The Huffington Post -- Endless Simmer. "Stuff This! Top 10 Most Creative Stuffing Recipes." Nov. 23, 2010. (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.huffingtonpost.com/endless-simmer/thanksgiving-stuffing-recipes_b_787618.html#s190029&title=Mofongo_Stuffing
  • The Twinkies Cookbook: An Inventive and Unexpected Recipe Collection from Hostess. "Twinkling Turkey." Page 98. May 1, 2006. (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.amazon.com/Twinkies-Cookbook-Inventive-Unexpected-Collection/dp/1580087566?tag=vglnkc7198-20
  • US Foods. "Mofongo Stuffing." (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.usfoods.com/content/dam/usf/pdf/recipe_pdfs/USF_MofongoStuffing%20_Recipe.pdf
  • White Castle. "1991 Cookoff Winner: White Castle Turkey Stuffing." (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.whitecastle.com/food/recipes/view/7-white-castle-turkey-stuffing
  • White Castle. "Impress Your Guests With A Tasty White Castle Turkey Stuffing Recipe." Nov. 13, 2012. (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/impress-your-guests-with-a-tasty-white-castle-turkey-stuffing-recipe-179109111.html
  • Whole Living. "Dried Fruit and Toasted Nut Stuffing." Nov. 2010. (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.wholeliving.com/130806/dried-fruit-and-toasted-nut-stuffing
  • Wimbush-Bourque, Aimée. "A Virtual thanksgiving (Recipe: Bread Stuffing with Seasonal Fruits & Herbs." Simple Bites. Nov. 8, 2010. (Nov. 3, 2013) http://www.simplebites.net/a-virtual-thanksgiving-recipe-bread-stuffing-with-seasonal-fruits-herbs/
  • WPVI-TV. "Mr. Food: Popcorn Stuffing." Nov. 21, 2010. (Nov. 3, 2013) http://abclocal.go.com/wpvi/story?section=resources/lifestyle_community/food/mr_food&id=7801655

UP NEXT

How Much Will Americans Spend on Thanksgiving This Year?

How Much Will Americans Spend on Thanksgiving This Year?

Can feed your family of 10 at Thanksgiving for less than $50, total? The American Farm Bureau Federation says you can. Learn more at HowStuffWorks.


More to Explore