Prev Next  

Advertisement

How Tongue Splitting Works

Lots More Information

Author's Note: How Tongue Splitting Works

I wouldn't go so far as to say I'm squeamish, but it took me over 30 years to get my first tattoo. And thanks to my many years working as a restaurant cook, I've had more than my fair share of deep cuts and burns. The idea of doing that to myself on purpose? Yeah, not so much. The only voluntary medical procedure I'm ever likely to undertake with any enthusiasm is installing cybernetic robot arms. What? A guy can dream.

Related Articles

Sources

  • The Associated Press. "Illinois Bill Would Ban Tongue-Splitting." USA Today. May 13, 2003. (Feb. 5, 2015) http://usatoday30.usatoday.com/news/nation/2003-05-13-splitting_x.htm
  • Church of Body Modification (CoBM). "Mission Statement." 2014. (Feb. 6, 2015) http://uscobm.com/mission-statement/
  • Bonner, Anna. "Tongue Splitting Advice." Mookychick. Sept. 3, 2014. (Feb. 4, 2015). http://www.mookychick.co.uk/indie-fashion/tattoos-piercing/tongue-splitting-advice.php
  • Devarshi, Nayaswami. "Paramhansa Yogananda and Khechari Mudra." Ananda Sangha Worldwide. Feb. 19th, 2010. (Feb. 5, 2015). http://www.ananda.org/a-place-called-ananda/devarshi/1398/paramhansa-yogananda-and-khechari-mudra/
  • Diaz, Jesus. "Woman with Extreme Body Modifications Just Got More Extreme." Sploid. Feb. 2, 2015. (Feb. 6, 2015). http://sploid.gizmodo.com/the-most-extreme-tattoo-and-body-modification-just-got-1683298094
  • Holier Than Thou. "Tongue Splitting." (Feb. 11, 2015). http://www.holier-than-thou.co.uk/modification/tongue-splitting/
  • Jurden, John P. "Spit and Polish: A Critique of Military Off-Duty Personal Appearance Standards." Military Law Review. Summer 2005. (Feb. 5, 2015) http://www.loc.gov/rr/frd/Military_Law/Military_Law_Review/pdf-files/184-summer-2005.pdf
  • Kerr, David. "Mouthwash or Salt Water Rinse." Today's Dentistry. 2015. (Feb. 4, 2015). http://www.todaysdentistry.com.au/ask-a-dentist/mouthwash-or-salt-water-rinse/
  • LeTrent. "Tattoos and Piercings: How Young Is Too Young?" CNN. Sept. 12, 2013 (Feb. 5, 2015) http://www.cnn.com/2012/07/06/living/too-young-tattoo/
  • Loftus Plastic Surgery Center. "Tongue Splitting." 1999. (Feb. 3, 2015) http://www.infoplasticsurgery.com/facial/tongue-splitting/
  • Macreadie, Rachel. "Summary Offences Amendment (Tattooing and Body Piercing) Bill 2008." Parliament of Victoria. June, 2008. (Feb. 11, 2015) http://www.austlii.edu.au/au/other/VicBillsRR/2008/6.pdf
  • Medical Bag. "Tongue Splitting." Oct. 17, 2012. (Feb. 5, 2015) https://www.themedicalbag.com/bodymodstory/tongue-splitting
  • Pitts-Taylor, Victoria. "Tongue." Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body. Sept. 20, 2008. (Feb. 5, 2014). http://books.google.com/books?id=66u24WAyO_YC&pg=PA514&lpg=PA514v=twopage&q=tongue%20splitting&f=false
  • Shiavenza, Matt. "The Peculiar History of Foot Binding in China." The Atlantic. Sept. 16, 2013 (Feb. 2, 2015). http://www.theatlantic.com/china/archive/2013/09/the-peculiar-history-of-foot-binding-in-china/279718/
  • Siegel, Jamie. "A Split Tongue Brings Pain and Pleasure." The Badger Herald. April 15, 2004. (Feb. 2, 2015). http://badgerherald.com/news/2004/04/15/a-split-tongue-bring/#.VNAI-1XF_Lc
  • Singh, Kirpal. "Yog Vidya and Yog Sadhna: The Path of Yoga in Theory and Practice." The Crown of Life. 1997. (Feb. 5, 2014) http://www.ruhanisatsangusa.org/col/col-2a.htm
  • Sprague, Erik. "The Modern History of Tongue Splitting." BME. 2005. (Feb. 5, 2015) http://news.bme.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/09/pubring/lizardman/20050726.html
  • Vaughn, Cliff. "Tongue Splitting More Than Budding Controversy." Ethics Daily. May 29, 2003. (Feb. 5, 2015). http://www.ethicsdaily.com/news.php?viewStory=2625
  • Webdentistry. "Tongue Splitting: Does It Affect Speech or Function?" Feb. 26, 2004. (Feb. 6, 2015) http://www.webdentistry.com/Article1272.html

Advertisement


Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement