Lots More Information

Related HowStuffWorks ArticlesMore Great Links

Sources

  • Historical Overview of Drug Use In America (and around the world)." University of Missouri-St. Louis. http://www.umsl.edu/~keelr/180/drughistory.htm
  • "A history of drug rehabilitation." Addiction Search. http://www.addictionsearch.com/treatment_articles/article/a-history-of-drug- rehabilitation_39.html
  • "The History of the Narcanon Drug Rehabilitation Program." Drugs No More. http://www.drugsno.com/narconon_history.htm
  • "Drug treatment under correctional supervision." Department of Justice. http://www.ojp.gov/bjs/dcf/dt.htm
  • Zickler, Patrick. "NIDA Scientific Panel Reports On Prescription Drug Misuse and Abuse." http://www.prescription-drug-abuse.org/prescription-drug-abuse/prescription -drug-misuse-and-abuse.htm
  • Fiorentine, Robert. "Counseling frequency and the effectiveness of outpatient drug treatment: revisiting the conclusion that 'more is better.'" American Journal of Drug and Alcohol Abuse. November, 2001. http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0978/is_4_27/ai_80771912/pg_1
  • "Results From the 2005 National Survey On Drug Use and Health: National Findings." U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. http://www.oas.samhsa.gov/nsduh/2k5nsduh/2k5results.pdf
  • NIDA InfoFacts: Treatment Approaches for Drug Addiction." National Institute On Drug Abuse. http://www.drugabuse.gov/infofacts/treatmeth.html
  • "Measuring and Improving Costs, Cost-Effectiveness, and Cost-Benefit for Substance Abuse Treatment Programs." National Institute On Drug Abuse. http://www.drugabuse.gov/IMPCOST/IMPCOST4.html
  • "Drug Addiction Treatment Sees Drop In Success Rate." Liverpool John Moores University. http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/49482.php
  • Pryor, Fiona. "Why celebrities queue up for rehab." BBC News. February 22, 2007. http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/low/entertainment/6383751.stm
  • "Cocaine and heroin addict Amy finally says YES to rehab in the US." Daily Mail. August 14, 2007. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/pages/live/articles/showbiz/showbiznews.html?in _article_id=475276&in_page_id=1773
  • "12-Step Treatment More Effective Than Alternative, Study Says." Alcoholism: Clinical and Experimental Research. January 2007. http://www.jointogether.org/news/research/summaries/2007/aa-boosts- sobriety-by-30.html
  • Royce, James E. S.J., Ph.D. and Scratchley, David Ph.D. Number of Alcoholics: Alcoholism and Other Drug Problems. http://www.enotalone.com/article/5540.html
  • "Eating Disorders: Facts About Eating Disorders and the Search for Solutions." National Institute of Mental Health. 2001. http://www.mentalhealth.com/book/p45-eat1.html#Head_3
  • Herkov, Michael, Ph.D. "Treatment For Sexual Addiction." http://psychcentral.com/lib/2006/treatment-for-sexual-addiction/