10 Uses of the Insanity Defense


Lots More Information

UP NEXT

What Is MS-13 and Why Is It So Scary?

What Is MS-13 and Why Is It So Scary?

President Donald Trump says deporting members of MS-13 will make the U.S. safer. HowStuffWorks looks at the gang's history and whether it's that simple.


Author's Note: 10 Uses of the Insanity Defense

I admit that I never knew Andrew Jackson was so tough -- how did I miss this all these years? While most of us would likely duck and cover -- or do whatever we could to get out of there, and fast -- when a man points a loaded gun at us, Jackson instead attacked his attacker and beat him with his cane. How times, and security, have changed.

Related Articles

More Great Links

Sources

  • American Psychiatric Association -- Psychiatric News Alert. "Supreme Court Won't Hear Insanity Defense Case." 2012. (Feb. 22, 2013) http://alert.psychiatricnews.org/2012/11/supreme-court-wont-hear-insanity.html
  • Biography. "Dan White." (Feb. 22, 2013) http://www.biography.com/people/dan-white-17169664
  • Biography. "Jack Ruby." (Feb. 22, 2013) http://www.biography.com/people/jack-ruby-20640181
  • Biography. "Jeffrey Dahmer." (Feb. 22, 2013) http://www.biography.com/people/jeffrey-dahmer-9264755
  • CBS News. "Lorena Bobbitt, 15 Years Later." 2009. (Feb. 22, 2013) http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-500185_162-4207517.html
  • Constitutional Accountability Center. "Four States Have No Insanity Defense. All 50 Need It." 2012. (Feb. 22, 2013) http://theusconstitution.org/text-history/1663/four-states-have-no-insanity-defense-all-50-need-it
  • Cornell University Law School -- Legal Information Institute. "Insanity Defense." 2010. (Feb. 22, 2013) http://www.law.cornell.edu/wex/insanity_defense
  • Donohue, Andrew; Arya, Vinay; Fitch, Lawrence; and Debra Hammen. "Legal Insanity." Psychiatry. Vol. 5, no. 3. 2008. (Feb. 22, 2013) http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2710106/
  • Fuchs, Erin. "The Supreme Court Is Being Urged to Force States to Allow Insanity Defense." 2012. (Feb. 22, 2013) http://www.businessinsider.com/john-delling-insanity-defense-2012-7
  • Gado, Mark. "The Insanity Defense." TruTV. (Feb. 22, 2013) http://www.trutv.com/library/crime/criminal_mind/psychology/insanity/1.html
  • George, B.J. Jr. "Mental Health Provisions." National Criminal Justice Reference Service. 1988. (Feb. 22, 2013) https://www.ncjrs.gov/App/publications/Abstract.aspx?id=119242
  • Hartocollis, Anemona. "Nearly 8 Years Later, Guilty Plea in Subway Killing." The New York Times. 2006. (Feb 22, 2013) http://www.nytimes.com/2006/10/11/nyregion/11kendra.html
  • History. "Andrew Jackson narrowly escapes assassination." (Feb. 22, 2013) http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/andrew-jackson-narrowly-escapes-assassination
  • KBOI 2 News. "John Delling receives two life sentences." 2009. (Feb. 22, 2013) http://www.kboi2.com/news/local/53569797.html
  • Life. "Murder in Manhattan." Pages 28-29. Jan. 27, 1941. (Feb. 22, 2013) http://www.originallifemagazines.com/LIFE-Magazine-January-27-1941-P1224.aspx
  • Lilienfield, Scott O., and Hal Arkowitz. "The Insanity Verdict on Trial. Scientific American. 2001. (Feb. 22, 2013) http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=the-insanity-verdict-on-trial
  • Lindsey, Robert. "Dan White, Killer of San Francisco Mayor, a Suicide." The New York Times. 1985. (Feb. 22, 2013) http://www.nytimes.com/1985/10/22/us/dan-white-killer-of-san-francisco-mayor-a-suicide.html
  • Los Angeles Times. "Dahmer Pleads Guilty but Insane in Serial Killings." 1992. (Feb. 22, 2013) http://articles.latimes.com/1992-01-14/news/mn-261_1_jeffrey-dahmer
  • Magnus, Edie. "A deadly encounter." Dateline NBC. 2007. (Feb. 22, 2013) http://www.nbcnews.com/id/16713078/#.USLStqUqanE
  • Mitgang, Herbert. "Researchers Dispute Ezra Pound's 'Insanity'" The New York Times. 1981. (Feb. 22, 2013) http://www.nytimes.com/1981/10/31/books/researchers-dispute-ezra-pound-s-insanity.html
  • New York State Office of Mental Health. "An Explanation of Kendra's Law." 2006. (Feb. 22, 2013) http://www.omh.ny.gov/omhweb/Kendra_web/Ksummary.htm
  • PBS -- American Experience. "Biography: John Hinkcley, Jr." (Feb. 22, 2013) http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/americanexperience/features/biography/reagan-hinckley/
  • PBS -- Frontline. "A Crime of Insanity: Other Notorius Insanity Cases." (Feb. 22, 2013) http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/shows/crime/trial/other.html
  • Poetry Foundation. "Ezra Pound." (Feb. 22, 2013) http://www.poetryfoundation.org/bio/ezra-pound
  • Prentice, George. "U.S. Supreme Court Rejects Appeal From Idaho Killer." Boise Weekly. 2012. (Feb. 22, 2013) http://www.boiseweekly.com/CityDesk/archives/2012/11/26/us-supreme-court-rejects-appeal-from-idaho-killer
  • Ross, Michael. "Lorena Bobbitt Acquitted in Mutilation of Husband: Maiming: Jury agrees abuse triggered insanity that led to attack. She is sent to a mental hospital for 45 days." Los Angeles Times. 1994. (Feb. 22, 2013) http://articles.latimes.com/1994-01-22/news/mn-14293_1_lorena-bobbitt
  • Spokane Daily Chronicle. "Esposito Brothers Die at Sing Sing." March 13, 1942. (Feb. 22, 2013) http://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=1338&dat=19420313&id=ZNdXAAAAIBAJ&sjid=TvUDAAAAIBAJ&pg=4048,2707472
  • UPI. "Highway killers are target of FBI." 2010. (Feb. 22, 2013) http://www.upi.com/Top_News/US/2010/10/05/Highway-killers-are-target-of-FBI/UPI-62641286299749/
  • University of Virginia -- Miller Center. "Friday Feature: Andrew Jackson Riding the Tiger." (Feb. 22, 2013) http://millercenter.org/ridingthetiger/category/andrew-jackson

More to Explore