10 Historically Pivotal Murders


Lots More Information

UP NEXT

How to Safely and Anonymously Report Sexual Assault

How to Safely and Anonymously Report Sexual Assault

One out of every six American women is the victim of an attempted or completed rape. HowStuffWorks tells how to safely and anonymously report them.


Author's Note: 10 Historically Pivotal Murders

One of the most surprising facts I found while researching this article was that one of the murders happened only a few blocks from my own house. Even though it happened decades ago, I was still a little spooked -- there are only so many murders you can read about before becoming firmly convinced that there are murderers lurking in every closet and behind every shower curtain. However, I was also surprised by how much influence a single event can have over public opinion. Emmett Till's death especially was hugely influential in generating public support for the U.S. civil rights movement, and it was a tremendous act of bravery for Till's mother to display his body. It's hard to think in terms of murder as anything but a tragedy, but it's a reminder that human dignity and decency can still triumph in the face of brutality.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Aiuto, Russell. "The Lindbergh Kidnapping." Crime Library. 2014. (Aug. 21, 2014) http://www.crimelibrary.com/notorious_murders/famous/lindbergh/crime_2.html
  • Anson, Robert Sam. "To Die Like a Gangsta." Vanity Fair. March 1997. (Aug. 19, 2014) http://www.vanityfair.com/culture/features/1997/03/tupac-shakur-rap-death#
  • Baatz, Simon. "Leopold and Loeb's Criminal Minds." Smithsonian Magazine. August 2008. (Aug. 17, 2014) http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/leopold-and-loebs-criminal-minds-996498/?no-ist
  • Beith, Malcolm. "The Narco of Narcos: Fugitive Mexican Drug Lord Rafael Caro." Insight Crime. April 14, 2014. (Aug. 18, 2014) www.insightcrime.org/news-analysis/the-narco-of-narcos-fugitive-mexican-drug-lord-rafael-caro-quintero
  • Cockburn, Alexander. "Whiteout: The CIA, Drugs, and the Press." Verso. 1998.
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation. "The Lindbergh Kidnapping." 2014. (Aug. 18, 2014) http://www.fbi.gov/about-us/history/famous-cases/the-lindbergh-kidnapping
  • Gansberg, Martin. "37 Who Saw Murder Didn't Call the Police." The New York Times. March 27, 1964. (Aug. 20, 2014) http://www.nytimes.com/1964/03/27/37-who-saw-murder-didnt-call-the-police.html?_r=0
  • Getlen, Larry. "Debunking the myth of Kitty Genovese." New York Post. Feb. 16, 2014. (Aug. 20, 2014) http://nypost.com/2014/02/16/book-reveals-real-story-behind-the-kitty-genovese-murder/
  • Human Rights Watch. "Mexico's Disappeared: The Enduring Cost of a Crisis Ignored." Feb. 20, 2013. (Aug. 19, 2014) http://www.hrw.org/reports/2013/02/20/mexicos-disappeared
  • Linder, Doug. "The Charles Manson (Tate-LaBianca Murder) Trial." Famous Trials. 2002. (Aug. 19, 2014) http://law2.umkc.edu/faculty/projects/ftrials/manson/mansonaccount.html
  • Linder, Douglas O. "The Emmett Till Murder Trial: An Account." Famous Trials. 2012. (Aug. 17, 2014) http://law2.umkc.edu/faculty/projects/ftrials/till/tillhome.html
  • Linder, Douglas O. "The Leopold and Loeb Trial: A Brief Account." Famous Trials. 1997. (Aug. 17, 2014) http://law2.umkc.edu/faculty/projects/ftrials/leoploeb/Accountoftrial.html
  • Linton, Marissa. "The Terror in the French Revolution." Kingston University, UK. 2006.
  • Lynskey, Dorian. "Tupac and Biggie die as a result of east/west coast beef." The Guardian. June 12, 2011. (Aug. 19, 2014) http://www.theguardian.com/music/2011/jun/13/tupac-biggie-deaths
  • NPR Staff. "What Really Happened the Night Kitty Genovese Was Murdered?" NPR Books. March 3, 2014. (Aug. 17, 2014) http://www.npr.org/2014/03/03/284002294/what-really-happened-the-night-kitty-genovese-was-murdered
  • PBS: American Experience. "People & Events: The Leopold and Loeb Trial." 2014. (Aug. 17, 2014) http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/amex/monkeytrial/peopleevents/e_leopoldloeb.html
  • PBS: American Experience. "The Kidnapping." 2014. (Aug. 18, 2014) http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/amex/lindbergh/sfeature/crime.html
  • Procon.org. "US Executions from 1608-2002." Jan. 7, 2011. (Sept. 2, 2013) http://deathpenalty.procon.org/view.resource.php?resourceID=004087
  • Scheeres, Julia. "Black Dahlia." Crime Library. 2014. (Aug. 17, 2014) http://www.crimelibrary.com/notorious_murders/famous/dahlia/index_1.html
  • Seper, Jerr. "Brutal DEA agent murder reminder of agency priority." The Washington Times. March 5, 2010. (Sept. 2, 2014) http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2010/mar/05/dea-has-25-year-burning-reminder/?page=all
  • The Biography.com website. "Elizabeth Short." 2014. (Aug. 17, 2014) http://www.biography.com/people/black-dahlia-21117617#recent-case-developments
  • The Biography.com website. "Emmett Till." 2014. (Aug. 19, 2014) http://www.biography.com/people/emmett-till-507515
  • The Biography.com website. "Tupac Shakur." 2014. (Aug. 19, 2014) http://www.biography.com/people/tupac-shakur-206528#synopsis
  • The History Channel website. "Actress Sharon Tate Found Murdered." 2014. (Aug. 19, 2014) http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/actress-sharon-tate-found-murdered
  • The History Channel website. "Charlotte Corday Assassinates Marat." 2014. (Aug. 17, 2014) http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/charlotte-corday-assassinates-marat
  • Towle, Sarah. "Charlotte Corday and the Bathtub Assassination of Jean-Paul Marat." France Revisited. 2012. (Aug. 17, 2014) http://francerevisited.com/2012/07/charlotte-corday-and-the-bathtub-assassination-of-jean-paul-marat/
  • U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA). "Kiki and the History of Red Ribbon Week." 2014. Aug. 18, 2014) http://www.justice.gov/dea/redribbon/RedRibbon_history.shtml
  • White, Matthew. "The great big book of horrible things: The 100 Deadliest Episodes in Human History." Norton. 2012.

More to Explore